Friday Photo: More from Croix-des-Bouquets, Haiti

Until I started working with artisans in Haiti, all my producers were female, and most of the workers who made my product were female.  While I’m happy to support female workers, this wasn’t done purposely, but it just sort of happened.

In the world of recycled metal art from Haiti, most of the producers are men.  Again, I didn’t plan this.  I like the work, my customers like the work, and I’m happy to do my small bit to create a wee bit of economic development in Haiti.

So, I was surprised and delighted when I was wandering around, and came upon Myrta:

one of the few female metal artisans in Croix-des-Bouquets, Haiti

And, as a bonus Friday Photo, here’s a not great shot of Myrta’s piece.  (A better shot of it should be up on the site soon):

 

recycled metal tree of life

Myrta's tree of life

Leave a comment

Filed under fair trade, feminism, Haiti, labor, recycled

Leave a Reply

